hanaban's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

trickery and a good long sentence

I forgot to mention the rest of my yesterday.

I had a meeting with my Supervisor, but at 9:11am he called to let me know that we would be meeting at the group home instead of at his office. This was all in my voicemail as I was indisposed at the time of his original phone call. I cursed him under my breath for making me drive an extra I don't know how many miles to get to the group home, then proceeded to go on my way.

I get there in about 20 minutes and I knock on the door one, two, three times until the girl working there finally answers. It wasn't her fault, though. She was all by herself! My supervisor hadn't arrived. I helped her out with some tasks and he finally arrived around 10:45am, saying that he was waiting for me at his office. I guess I should've called to let him know I received his voicemail but I just figured he was already going to be at the house and it was too late to call. No biggie. He sits and I sit and he tells me a bunch of things that can be considered a little bit of training. After a while, I ask if that'll be all and if it would be okay for me to leave. He says he wants me to stay until 3pm! I tell him that I can't because I have to be somewhere at 1:30pm. This wasn't fair at all because he never told me that I was there for training. He merely told me that we would meet so he could tell me when I have to work/train next. I think he was trying to trick me!

He let me leave at 12:30pm, which ended up being 12:45pm, and I was glad because I didn't want to miss the sentencing of my good friend's killer. I hurried out to my car, looked at my cell phone, then saw that Bryan had called. I called him back and he said he'd just meet us at the courthouse at 1:30pm. I called Andrew and we met at the parking lot of the art building around 1:00pm in order to head downtown.

We parked in the same row as our friend Jeff's family and other friends usually park and we saw Alicia getting ready to cross the street to the courthouse. We went inside, got through security, who didn't even look at the monitor when my purse went through the scanner (I could've had a weapon or two in there!), then went up two or three flights of marble stairs. The lady told us to be respectful to the court and to the killer's family, so we weren't allowed to hoop and holler once the sentencing was announced by the judge. We went inside.

The next part was hard. We got to listen to his family and his one friend talk about how much of a good guy he is and that he should get the minimum sentence instead of the maximum. Then we got to listen to Jeff's family and friends talk about how he was the best. It made me cry a lot. The judge did a good job of being reasonable and I am glad for Jeff's parents that guy is going to be put away for a long time.
We went with Jeff's parents and the rest of his family/friends to the Dash In for some food afterward because we were STARVING. We sat. We ordered. We drank. We ate. We were still hungry.

Joe called after I paid my bill and asked if I would be home soon because his van was done at the shop and they close soon. I got a ride back to my car and went home. We picked up the van, walked in the house, and I saw that he'd picked up the living room! He even put down the rug and it looked so nice and home-y :) I thanked him for his work and we got ready to go out with Adam, which is told in my previous post.
Yesterday was quite the busy day.

12:02 pm - October 21, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lostoblivion
girls-suck
onlywhispers
kimyadawson
glasscharm