hanaban's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

your glass should be overflowing

Upcoming events...

  • Sunday, August 7: IKEA and Chicago and Megan and all sorts of fun!
  • Saturday, August 13: Move-in day!
  • Monday, August 22: School. Boo...
  • Saturday, September 17: Paul and Sarah's wedding
  • Saturday, November 19: Elton John!

3:08 am - July 31, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

always look both ways and never assume

I don't think I ever want to drive again.

Everyone around me knows that I hate driving because it scares me to death and this morning it did just that. I'd just gotten off work so I was headed home for some sleep. I was at the stop sign waiting to turn right onto the road, and I started to go when I saw a little clearing...but my car skidded and so I stopped before I even got into the intersection so that the car coming my way wouldn't ram into me. I thought I was okay, but behind me was an old man who thought I'd gone on my way down the road because he started to go forward only looking left for traffic, thus bumping pretty hard into me.

This is the kind of thing that terrifies me. It's not so much the accident but that it happened not in my own car. It's my Mom's car and I always hated driving it because I'm always afraid I'll screw it up somehow. Gah.

5:31 pm - July 27, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hooray for good friends who make good times

Adam, Joe and I drove to Ohio to meet his friend Tom at the drive-in. It was the first time Joe and I had been to the drive-in and it was such an awesome experience. There were quite a few people there and a lot to do. A little boy died from some sort of illness not too long ago in the town and to raise money for his family you could pay to hit a junk car several times with a sledgehammer. Adam took out a light and his friend Tom took out the whole back window. There was a raffle with cool prizes like bikes, tents, etc., too, and they had good pizza. Yum. It rained off and on but we had a really good time. We got home around 4am because we saw three movies (oh, and for six whole dollars! That's less than even one movie at the regular theatre) and then woke up to go to Pine Lake at 11am. I love eventful days with friends. Holly and Zach were there, but so was Chan (!) and it was just good to have at least one person we don't normally see hang out with us again. It was good to get to hang out with Adam since he's going to be travelling and we won't see him for a few weeks.

1:01 am - July 25, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bittersweetness

There's been so much going on lately. I have tomorrow off, then it's back to work once again. I think it'll be better this week because I won't be working 50 hours, but the money would help out with the apartment and necessities.

...speaking of which, Joe and I turned in our applications for an apartment on Saturday and we got our new potential address. The great thing is that they had one of which we were looking for, on the first floor without a balcony (they cost more) or a gas fireplace. It seems that everything is falling into place and that feeling is such a relief as well as wonderful all at once. If everything goes well and we get approved, we will be moving into the apartment in three weeks! Gah!

Some sad news has come over this weekend, however, and I just want to hug everyone dear to me, especially Joe (and not ever let go).

12:18 am - July 25, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

because i am a wuss

I can't stay awake anymore. Pathetic.

1:08 am - July 16, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

all i talk about is work

Starting Monday, I will be spending just an hour short of half the day, every day, working. I will be sitting on my butt until it goes flat, just like - h -. I'm sure I'll beat her to it, though. I hear all these great things about working 3rd shift, such as the very low amount of calls or jobs to do and getting to play games or whatever I decide to do to pass the time and keep myself awake. I don't think grammar should be important when I'm journaling because it messes up my train of thought, and for once I don't care. I hope that it works out and I'm able to stay up for all of that time. I think I should practice starting Saturday night. I can't believe it'll be two weeks of training that I'm done with tomorrow and I will be taking calls and doing jobs all on my own from tomorrow on.

Our supervisor just informed us that we are allowed to wear jeans to work since we are the "after hours" crew (and no one will see us) so that is really cool. I think that I will still wear at least khakis, though, because I really want to show that I care a lot and want to go far in this job. I hope that they like me and I don't mess up too much. What will I have to eat for eleven hours?! Divide by two and that's five and a half meals I will have to prepare...approximately. Whatever you do, please don't talk about me starving myself to "keep my figure." I eat more than you can on the days that you binge from your diet and I just had soup that day because I didn't want to waste my two dollars on nasty cafeteria food. Joe's Grill is much better than the mean lunch lady's food any day, and he's a maaaaannn! Take that, meany. I can't believe they leave stuff for the next day when it's all wrinkled and chewy then try to sell it at a marked down price...pfft! They do have Chai, though. That's a good thing. I should get to bed or something.

9:14 pm - July 14, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

cheese.

I have thoughts about bills, transportation, furniture, paint colors and everything else that pertains to the big move, but I think the best thought of it all is that I soon get to live with you.

10:05 pm - July 10, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

blurbs.

Hulk Hogan is a madman, I only have one week left of training before I have to adjust to working third shift, you should try the Blended Strawberry Lemonade from Starbucks if you get a chance and I need to do laundry.

9:32 pm - July 10, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tomorrow i will be a big mouth bass

I think I'm starting to get nervous about starting my new job tomorrow. I still haven't gone grocery shopping so I don't know what I'm going to do about lunch. I should probably get some granola bars to hold me over every two hours before and after lunchtime. It's going to be so weird to work a full-time job when I'm used to barely working part-time. Tomorrow, I will work in an entire day at the new job the total amount of hours that I would normally work at the store. I wonder what we're going to do. Tomorrow, my cumulative work hours will be close to 12, minus the time it takes me from one place to another. I will be an extrovert and make new friends to show the lady that I can speak up and handle this job. Having a big mouth is job security. I can handle it. I'm so excited about moving out and IKEA furniture and every little good thing that will come from this new job. I'm giddy.

3:44 pm - July 04, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

readying for the week

Camping was a lot of fun, and there's still today and tomorrow of the weekend left! I need to get myself some black dress shoes/oxfords for my new job. After an 8-5 session of training on Tuesday, Thursday and Friday, I get to go straight to the store to close. I hope she decides to let Holly close after my two weeks of training, I'm sure I'll be exhausted. I also need to get more dressy clothes since I have to be in them 4-5 days a week and my collection is mainly dressy clothes from senior year of high school when I was interning a lot. Clothes don't fit the same after a few years. I can't believe I wore my pants that high... it's just weird after wearing hiphuggers all the time. I'm going to try to find items $10 and under and see if I can get lucky somehow. I'm really hungry so I'm going to probably make myself a Nutella sandwich.

5:00 pm - July 03, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

camping

www.flickr.com

4:10 pm - July 03, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lostoblivion
girls-suck
onlywhispers
kimyadawson
glasscharm