hanaban's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

irony

Joe and I had a nice lunch at the diner we always pass by today and I even had dessert. I never have dessert so I thought I'd have some since I felt my pants were stretchy enough. Just kidding about that last part. Where does the name "Dutch Apple Pie" come from?

I was all ready to tell my boss that I found a new job today, but she's not even here and it's not certain she'll be back later. I'll just tell her when I call her to tell her the day's totals, I guess. I hope she doesn't freak out.

5:41 pm - June 30, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

almost

Today, I got almost everything done:

  • take drug test for new job
  • get birthday present for bee
  • dishes
  • shop for groceries
  • water plants and grass
Starting Tuesday, I will be at training for my new job from 8am to 5pm. I am going to have fun this weekend before I become dead tired.
I picked up a bottle of spilled cologne that I didn't know what spilled and now I smell like Joe used to smell, which isn't bad but probably perplexing to people I've been around today.
Can you pee in a cup while a little old man is waiting for you just outside the bathroom door, that and keep in mind that you can't flush or wash your hands until he says so? I can, but it was pretty awkward. I bet that man has a fancy title for his job as "person who receives urine samples" or something like that. Hey, a job is a job, though, and jobs don't come easy. I'm exhausted and it's not even 9pm yet. Weak.

8:16 pm - June 29, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

who am i

I am still in shock, but hey, the important thing is that I now have a job. Yes, it's a job, and it's one that'll actually pay for things. I really hope all goes well and I do okay. I start training on Tuesday for two weeks, 8-5. I've waited so long for this and it's such a relief. I don't know how I can be so in shock and excited at the same time, but I am. Yay me.

8:05 pm - June 28, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

balancing act

Marathons are good things, but a Gilmore Girls marathon is even better.

I usually aim to accomplish at least one task per day to make myself feel useful. Today, up until now, I have only bathed Ira and cleaned up the kitchen. I guess it's still something, though. That dishwasher can be so loud! Whatever I left in the sink several days ago smelled like Ira's fresh urine every time I got a whiff; it was pretty gross.

I think I've adopted the idea that we are all supposed to experience some sort of pain and suffering throughout the course of our lives from my Mother some years ago. There is a time in one's life when things are either very good or very bad and then vice-versa at another time. I think that I have been spoiled all of my life and I am now going to have to balance it out with not necessarily the worst of things but just not being spoiled anymore. I am still having trouble finding a job and I envy anyone who works at an establishment that helps me (i.e. the people who get to wear the red polo shirts at Meijer, bank employees, pretty much anyone with a job that appears to provide them with hours per week that cannot be worked all in one shift). I don't know if I will have a place to live once Mom comes back from Vietnam and heads out to Virginia for good. Furthermore, I worry that I won't be able to go to school anymore and I'll end up working at my current employer for the rest of my life. I worry and I think so much. I really need to find something to occupy myself with so that I don't think, worry or miss too much.

5:59 pm - June 26, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

be optimistic and just smile smile smile

I'm trying to follow Em's advice and be as optimistic as possible. Tuesday, we're all going out for a picnic. I still need to find a good recipe for something to bring along... I thought I might make Jell-o cake since I haven't yet failed at it, but then again it's a big large to tote along so I should probably bring something else. Any ideas?

12:46 pm - June 26, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the secret bathroom breaks

I get excited when I'm allowed to sleep past 9am. I just thought Ira was being nice to me the whole time, and he was, by peeing each morning in my parents' room and then returning to sleep in my bed. Silly dog.

7:02 pm - June 18, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pathetic little me

Today, I will be "that kid" who traverses the walkways of shopping centers and malls asking for job applications. I wonder how "that kid" usually does by the end of the day. I hope "that kid" obtains a job.

12:09 pm - June 17, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

Looks like my life might change drastically in a month or so. I really need to get a better job so I can somehow support myself. I hate when Mom comes to me with this kind of news because it throws me into this stressed mode and then she changes her mind every time. I hope she doesn't change her mind this time. I'm scared to death, and this is pretty much up there with as scared to death I was when I couldn't find Ira right away the other night.

In much less sombre news, Holly and I are going to take Todd (her dog) and Ira on walks today! Then, we're going to go see Sahara because she's really been wanting to see it and it's at the dollar theater. Looks like it might rain, though, so we should probably get walking soon.

9:52 am - June 15, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the almost brief life of a dog named ira

If I freak out this much about my dog, I wonder how it'll be if I have kids. Tonight, I let Ira outside and with one dart he found his way out of the collar, into the darkness. He's so quiet that I couldn't even tell he was gone until I noticed how quiet it was, since he usually freaks out. Oh, dear goodness... I couldn't find the flashlight and he didn't run across the street to the neighbor's yard as he usually does, so I had to walk around near the other yards of dog owners to check there. After many bug bites and a nice chat with a little girl about her cat "Cuddles," I heard Mom yell across the pond that she finally got a hold of Ira. We were locked out of the house, though, because my Dad locked the back door. Let me tell you that I was pretty much shaking the whole time Ira was gone, worrying about this or that, such as Ira darting into the street and getting hit by a car in our neighborhood, or even worse, him running into the actual road on which people travel at very high speed. Gah... I don't know what to do. I'm so scared of something like this happening again and not being able to find him. Joe and I talked about a choke collar but I really hope there's something else that works. I need to walk him on a daily basis again.

11:12 pm - June 13, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wishlist for summer 2005

Things I hope to accomplish this summer:

  • somehow make it to Canada, because little Helen was/is really looking forward to us coming
  • acquire a new job
  • go to Pine Lake and/or Arnold's
  • do something during my days off
  • master Esperanto

4:42 pm - June 13, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rainy rainy day

I've been pretty tired and out of it lately. I finally got a new cell phone and I sure hope the battery doesn't mess up as much as the battery on my other phone. 8 minutes talk time, pfft. Let's see how much longer this one can last. This weekend is going to be pretty rainy, but I hope Holly's having fun in Chicago with "Stupid" Zach and I hope that Natalie's and her party will not be affected. Emily's going to Spain soon, so we get to hang out with her before she leaves. I'd really like to go to the zoo and Jack Johnson, but the latter is not possible because I have somehow become responsible enough to consider school more important than "Banana Pancakes"... somehow.

My brother is livin' it up in the Bahamas with my aunt, uncle and cousin. Boo to that. I want to see the blue, blue ocean and go scuba diving so I can take pictures underwater. I hope it doesn't end up raining tomorrow so we can go on another bike ride. It's been a while and I miss it.

1:36 pm - June 11, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

four hours is better than no hours

Lately:

  • sleep around 4am
  • wake before 9am
  • step in dog pee immediately
  • continue to step in dog pee because it's invisible, but it's everywhere
  • watch 7 Days (my favorite show as a kid) while waiting for Gilmore Girls to come on, just to have it be an episode i've already seen
  • completed exercises from Lesson 3 of Free Esperanto Course and sent to online tutor
  • long for sleep

11:03 am - June 09, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

not yet successful job hunt

I bet I could get a job easily if I were like Rory from Gilmore Girls.

11:55 am - June 08, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

things to remember about 06.07.05

Things to remember about today:

  • early bike rides = good stuff
  • the Brisk!
  • coupon for a free 6-piece boneless wing combo at KFC just because we were patient enough to wait for potato wedges
  • Joe's huge grin after what happened at the soccer game

9:20 pm - June 07, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

esperanto

I started learning Esperanto today, but Joe is convinced it's as nerdy a language as Clingon because he has never heard of it. I then started to feel like a nerd because I know a language like Clingon. Do more people know of Clingon or Esperanto? I don't make much sense these days.

Tomorrow, Joe and I will be joining Holly and Ryan on a bike ride. Hooray for such fun things! I think it'll be much better than today, which consisted of being tired and lazy indoors. Boo to that.

10:07 pm - June 06, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a nice sunburn

Joe and I took the bike path near Kreager Park today when we went riding, and it was a lot nicer than the River Greenway path we took last week. There were a lot less people around and barely any streets to cross. We did, however, get a lot of pollen in our face, ears, nose, mouth... but that's all a part of nature. I really liked that there were trees on each side of the path that curved toward each other, making one of those picturesque pathways that somehow made me think of The Secret Garden. It was really nice. It was also pretty hot out, 90 degrees or even hotter, and being exposed to the sun when we got past the trees burned me a little. I'm just glad I was out and about rather than dwelling around drinking Capri Suns at home.

Mom got some fabric from Wal-Mart when she went shopping earlier and she let me have this pretty lavendar and white checked stuff... hooray for new inspiration! I don't know what I'll do with it yet, but you know I'll be looking for something soon.

Tomorrow, I have an interview-type meeting at 11:30am. It's pretty exciting and I hope things go well. I really need more money, even though my current boss is extending my hours by one. I also need to deposit my checks and stop being so forgetful about such important things.

10:04 pm - June 05, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

things to remember for the month of june

Remember:

  • school schedule and resume for 11:30am interview tomorrow
  • fill out rebate form for flash drive
  • fill out financial aid forms for school
  • write to - h - and friend in myanmar
  • find a graduation gift for holly
  • videotape fort wayne for mom
  • research digital video cameras for mom
  • make business cards for mom
  • pick brother up from airport somehow on the 23rd

9:37 am - June 05, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bored.

So bored.

5:37 pm - June 04, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

keeping busy to not bother you

Today:

  • woke up before 9am
  • ate cinnamon graham crackers
  • watched full house
  • learned how to easily make spicy fries and coney dogs
  • tried to sew a pouch, failed
  • watching final destination

3:57 pm - June 04, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

banking

I really need to get to the bank.

12:19 am - June 04, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lostoblivion
girls-suck
onlywhispers
kimyadawson
glasscharm