hanaban's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hey i speak french

Yesterday, Holly and I went to a few garage sales in my neighborhood and then to check out the new H&M at the mall. Emily told me it was big and shiny and it was. The sad thing is that the historical brick part with the Johnny Appleseed and other shops was completely taken out and covered with normal vinyl/tile in order to accomodate such a size. They still kept the 10' tall Johnny Appleseed carving/statue in the store but it just didn't fit. Boo to that. The store was pretty organized and the masses of items were very cute. Pretty exciting. We saw Kris there but didn't recognize him until he said "Hi," to us because he looked a little different than usual. We got to watch people demonstrating their ballroom dancing skills and unfortunately see this 60-year-old looking lady dance with a flouncy mini skirt that would fly up all the time and show her bottom to the world... We did get job applications from H&M and Dry Ice because it would just be cool to have a job that will allow work for more than 8 hours a week. Yes, it would.

We went to the most boring hockey game ever in the nighttime and then afterward Joe and I went to Marsh to get food and found jars of pickle spears 5 for $5! Oh, how that savings on my Marsh card was probably the total amount I saved last year. It's actually worthwhile now. We also went to Meijer and got an Employment Weekly that was cool because I found about four or five ads I could circle, including one that said, "Speak French, German, or Itailian? blah blah blah" but that was good enough and I was so excited to read it... I can't wait 'til tomorrow when I turn in apps and call these places. Whoo! I also want to be a secretary in a veterinary hospital. Super! <-- in a French accent, it sounds less ditsy.

12:26 pm - May 01, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

randomness strikes once again

Did you know that Tennessee Williams died at the age of 71 due to choking on a bottle cap? I don't really know much about him other than that he wrote A Streetcar Named Desire which is frequently mentioned in Almodovar's All about My Mother. Note to self: Don't mess with bottle caps.

On the day that I was born, the number one song in the United States was "Karma Chameleon" by Culture Club and "Relax" by Frankie Goes to Hollywood in the U.K. Gotta love the '80s!

6:21 pm - April 27, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

two years and fifty-eight more to go

This weekend in Chicago...

  • We ate at the Cheesecake Factory:
  • We went to GameWorks and got ripped off:
  • We went to IKEA where I got a cute green table
  • We saw the Leaning Tower of Pisa:
  • We ate at a super cool Jewish restaurant:
  • Stayed at a really nice hotel with $4.50 bottles of water and $5.00 pints of ice cream
  • Had IHOP for breakfast
  • Witnessed a lot of people being princesses (very demanding)... I don't think I'd ever want to live in a big city
Happy two years, Joe :)

12:52 pm - April 24, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

everybody needs a bosom for a pillow

I really liked that "Brimful of Asha" song by Cornershop from middle school. Does anyone happen to have the CD?

12:40 pm - April 20, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i can see the finish line from here

Tonight, I will work my butt off, because after tomorrow there will be virtually no worries other than finals, three of which one will be a take-home. Whoo! Come, weekend, come!

12:27 pm - April 20, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i am an english genius. ha.

English Genius
You scored 92% Beginner, 100% Intermediate, 93% Advanced, and 80% Expert!
You did so extremely well, even I
can't find a word to describe your excellence! You have the uncommon
intelligence necessary to understand things that most people don't. You
have an extensive vocabulary, and you're not afraid to use it properly!
Way to go!


Thank you so much for taking my test. I hope you enjoyed it!



For the complete Answer Key, visit my blog: http://shortredhead78.blogspot.com/.




My test tracked 4 variables How you compared to other people your age and gender:
free online datingfree online dating
You scored higher than 37% on Beginner
free online datingfree online dating
You scored higher than 69% on Intermediate
free online datingfree online dating
You scored higher than 53% on Advanced
free online datingfree online dating
You scored higher than 81% on Expert
Link: The Commonly Confused Words Test written by shortredhead78 on Ok Cupid

12:07 am - April 19, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

foooood

Tonight's To-Do List:

  • Finish W300 paper on Song of Solomon
  • Finish Lettres d'une P�ruvienne for F305 presentation on Tuesday
  • Write long paper on The Gleaners and I for I208
  • Write dialogue for tomorrow's commercial in F326
  • Do homework for F326
In other news, Joe took me to the co-op yesterday and we discovered so much nondairy ice cream to my delight. Oh, the choices there were: butter pecan (my favorite), cookies 'n cream, chocolate velvet, and even nutty bars and the like! Imagine my excitement, then multiply it by an enormous number. That made my day. Unlike the other organic foods I'd gotten there before, the ice cream tasted just as the other butter pecan ice creams I've tasted before (maybe even better since I hadn't eaten it in so long) and that made me a very happy girl. In addition, we made beignets and then cr�pes... yum! We were all pretty tired before long and the night ended earlier than usual, but it was really nice and fun. Ooh, and the miso soup was really good, too! I noticed that there are quite a few food blogs out there, maybe I should make one, too...

9:46 pm - April 17, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

je mourrai...

So tonight was the night of my poetry contest and I totally bombed my poem. Joe got it on tape. I knew it was going to happen that way anyhow so it doesn't matter all too much. Cool people who did a great job on their poems won the prizes they deserved, though, so that's a good thing. I wish Ryan would've won that dictionary, though, he wanted it really bad. John, a friend I don't get to see much, was trying to convince others to convince me that I should just bring my poem up to the podium with me. This is because my poem is 42 lines long and most everyone else's poems are 10. It was fun before and after I had the worst experience EVER of my life. Ryan and Ranya were doing silly little dances and singing in French, but we were late to capture them on video or camera. Holly's sister had her baby, Kollin (with a "K") last night (the 13th) so she's an aunt to another nephew. I'm glad the birth went well because I've often heard of complications lately. This summer, we'll have two babies to shop for :)

2:04 am - April 15, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sleep is good for you

12+ hours of sleep really does me well after only having 3 the night before. Homework was a breeze and I will get that research paper done tonight, at the latest tomorrow before class. I've been working on it a lot and trying my best to make it really good so that I don't have to change much after I get it back. Now I have to memorize that poem for the Concours de poesie tomorrow...

2:05 pm - April 13, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lostoblivion
girls-suck
onlywhispers
kimyadawson
glasscharm