hanaban's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

french party...whoo!

The International Language and Culture Studies department at my school gave out scholarships to students studying from abroad earlier this year so that they would have some extra money to spend on their stay here since they are not permitted to work. As a requirement for having accepted those scholarships, they were to plan an event relating to something international, and they decided to make this week "French week". Yesterday marked the first day of this "French week" with a party where $200 work of cheese was bought and less than half of it was consumed (I still talk about it because I can't believe the waste!); and I got to share my crepe-making experiences with others. Ryan helped me out at first, then Celine asked if she could give it a try, and then Henock who asked if he could have my crepe maker got behind the table and did some serious crepe-making. We even brought a little chalkboard and some colored chalk that Celine used to make a beautiful French menu (it counts because she's French), complete with drawings of ham and baguettes. New friends were made and many laughs were shared as we all consciously poked fun at French-y things. I still can't believe the $200 cheese, though. Lower standards = less waste. I am so bourgeoise and if Moliere was alive he would very much approve.

6:30 am - April 12, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

better together

Hey, Love-
I can't help but think of you and smile whenever I hear this song.

There is no combination of words 
I could put on the back of a postcard 
And no song that I could sing, but I can try for your heart 
Our dreams, and they are made out of real things 
Like a shoebox of photographs with sepia tone loving 

Love is the answer 
At least for most of the questions in my heart 
Why are we here and where do we go
And how come it's so hard
It's not always easy and sometimes life can be deceiving 
I'll tell you one thing
It's always better when we're together 

Mmm, it's always better when we're together 
Yeah, we'll look at the stars when we're together 
Well, it's always better when we're together 
Yeah, it's always better when we're together 

And all of these moments just might find a way into my dreams tonight 
But I know that they'll be gone when the morning light sings 
Or brings new things for tomorrow night you see 
That they'll be gone too, too many things I have to do 
But if all of these dreams might find their way into my day to day scene 
I'd be under the impression I was somewhere in between 
With only two, just me and you, not so many things we got to do 
Or places we got to be, we'll sit beneath the mango tree now 

Yeah, it's always better when we're together 
Mmm, we're somewhere in between together 
Well, it's always better when we're together 
Yeah, it's always better when we're together (mmm)

I believe in memories, they look so, so pretty when I sleep 
And when I wake up, you look so pretty sleeping next to me 
But there is not enough time 
And there is no, no song I could sing 
And there is no combination of words I could say 
But I will still tell you one thing 
We're better together
--"Better Together", Jack Johnson

11:34 pm - April 08, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sometimes you cant make it on your own

The chorus from U2's current single makes me want to cry.

10:00 pm - April 08, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

warmth

It's really nice out today, the best it's been yet. And tonight it won't drop down to freezing temperatures, either. The rest of the week seems to be pretty normal and not so cold. Isn't that great?

10:43 am - April 05, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

because it will stay inside of you until you let it out

Isn't it funny that you almost never realize some things about yourself for a really long while and then you have an epiphany (like on Scrubs) and you figure out why you've been acting so strange. I haven't been able to concentrate much on school or anything because I am still bothered with what's been going on with my parents. It's the kind of being bothered that's so bad I don't even talk about it; it just keeps coming back in my thoughts every time I try to do something that requires thinking. I'm pretty sad and a little messed up from this and I'm almost desparate to push myself like I never have before so that I can move out and not have to go through this every several weeks or so. I don't think I can take much more of this.

11:26 pm - April 04, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hooray for memphis tennessee!

I can't seem to get my 10-page paper done for Tuesday's class. I've had my mind on it the whole day but I've also been feeling icky and been distracted by silly shows on TV. I hope I get it done sometime. There are only a few weeks until classes are over with and it's a bit too soon for me because I am a slacker -- but just kidding, really, I don't know... it's going to feel weird not having many obligations with school for a while -- unless I decide to empty out my savings account to take that summer Translation class. Computer shipping update: Memphis, TN -- it's in the states now and so close to here! Whoo! I don't know what's gotten into me lately but I'm doing silly things that aren't cute and being the biggest pain ever. I'm sorry.

9:08 pm - April 03, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my laptop is on its way!

I like to do things just because, or just in case. Even though my computer is dead and won't turn on past the Windows welcome screen, I turn it on each day to see if it will turn on all the way, just in case. Each day I've been checking on the order status of the laptop Mom ordered for me and HP's been telling me that it will be built for me by April 6, 2005. Today, I checked just in case and it has been shipped, meaning it's on its way to me early, and I can use it for school, and it won't be too late because it won't be coming by the time classes end. Talk about whoo! It's coming from China, but it's coming anyhow!

12:42 pm - April 01, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

poor puter...

My computer is sick right now... or, rather, it's been sick for a while. There's so much wrong with it and I have to reformat it. Most of my collected "stuff" will be gone, and you know how I like my stuff. Oh, well, I'd rather have a functioning computer anyhow. 120 viruses...that's just so sad.

11:25 pm - March 26, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ebay!

Dear goodness, people on eBay, please don't get me addicted to looking at so much stuff all the time by listing all of your said stuff, such as: this super sweet fully-loaded camera set, with bag, and FREE shipping. Just don't. You'll make me want to save every penny and not eat just so I can take pretty pictures every which way I want. Ha. Man, it would be nice to have that. Time to do nothing makes me do such silly things.

4:10 pm - March 25, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wonderful things

Signs of a wonderful day/another good things list:

  • Having only the obligation to go to one class (French Business -- my favorite!)
  • Remembering to turn in my job application
  • Getting to Sam's Club for my membership card and gas... and inbetween I got to roam the store and see so much stuff! I love stuff!
  • The big bulk candy aisle at Sam's Club... I was like a kid again and I'm sure my eyes got bigger and bigger as I walked down the aisle
  • Figuring out what I'm doing next semester
  • Finally seeing my favorite professor (the native German one) after so long (since last semester) and getting to talk to her about so much (all in French, and in full sentences)!
  • Coming home to find that - h - sent me a package! Thank you so much, - h -... I was so elated to have received a package that its contents didn't matter, but cutxpaste and the cutest little book ever... with birds on it?! You're too kind!

6:43 pm - March 23, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sock!

I am close to finishing Joe's sock! Yes, it's only a sock right now because it takes a while to knit and I don't have the power to knit the same thing twice at the same time. It looks a little funny, but alas, like a sock should. I'm learning my do's and don'ts, so it's great.

Lately, I've become fascinated by the works of Moli�re and I have become a fan of NCAA's Wake Forest basketball team -- NCAA basketball is intense! I want to work on the sock obsessively now until it's done, but we'll see. I cleaned my room; there are still clothes in crevices, but very small amounts! There aren't things all over the floor, though. Whoo. So tired.

12:04 am - March 23, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

tired.

DSC01211.JPG

12:38 am - March 22, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

test...

Just seeing if Diaryland is really up and running again.

9:59 pm - March 20, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i am the silly kid you will always laugh at

Today, I only have one class, and so much time to get things until then because it's at 3:00 PM. I have so far finished the menu for my and my partner's French restaurant and I want to finish my French homework so I can go get yarn for new projects. The only thing I need to worry about now is finding something good and healthy to eat. I don't think marshmallow fluff and Nutella sandwiches will get me very far. Ooh! I just thought of pasta! The kind with flavor! Yum! Noodles....ahhh.

11:54 am - March 16, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i am a knitting guru!

Knitting Guru
You appear to be a Knitting Guru. You love knitting and do it all the time. While finishing a piece is the plan, you still love the process, and can't imagine a day going by without giving some time to your yarn. Packing for vacation involves leaving ample space for the stash and supplies. It can be hard to tell where the yarn ends and you begin. http://marniemaclean.com
What Kind of Knitter Are You?
brought to you by Quizilla

9:47 am - March 16, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

when life gives you five free hours, take them without any complaints

Sometimes you just have to be an optimist and make the most of what you have. I was freaking out this morning because I hadn't gotten enough sleep, I hadn't finished the logo for my group project, I hadn't done my homework for the best French class ever and I still needed to leave the house early enough to get to work on time. As I was trying to make a logo in three minutes, my boss called to let me know I didn't need to come into work today. That's a whole five hours I have to finish up all the things I hadn't even started. It's pretty pathetic that I will now have a total of eight hours to put down on my time card for the week, but hey, I had time to get my schoolwork done, so that's good. It's definately time to go out and get a new job rather than writing about it.

P.S. My hands are really dry.

12:04 pm - March 14, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

indianapalapolis

Super cool soy sauce dispenser

We are waiting for our sushi boat and there are people running on Joe's shirt

Our sushi boat... yum!



This weekend was a great end to Spring Break. While in Indianapolis, Joe and I:
  • had sushi on a boat with wasabi that could kill a man at Asaka while I was amazed by things such as the soy sauce dispenser and their soup bowls having lids
  • saw a real life pimp! He was walking down the street in his white pimp hat (similar to that of Hank Hill's) and a matching white coat. He probably also had white shoes... why wouldn't he?
  • counted numerous Marsh and Dick's stores
  • scored cleats, a t-shirt, radio pen, and red pumas for next to nothing at one of the Dick's store closing sales -- yaaayeah!
  • got cool birthday gifts for somebody at one of those cool kiosks run by Asians at the Castleton mall
  • after going to Circle Center mall realized that the Castleton mall is much cooler
  • because it has better kiosks and a Fossil
  • realized that I love Fossil
  • laughed a lot; that was the best part

10:56 pm - March 13, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a day for saying i will do things

Last night, I was finishing up my post and gathering information on links when my computer decided I needed to go to bed (or knit for another two hours). It stopped working. It's been playing with me like that this morning, but it's working well enough for me to be typing right now (knock on wood -- too bad my desk is MDF). Anyhow, I was writing about how yesterday was so much better than the day before and I got to go to the yarn store that people talk about so much. I got to see all the yarns I never though I could have access to here in little ol' Fort Wayne... and I bought some yarn for Joe's Mom's hat that's super soft and the perfect shade of green. That, and Joe and I watched Taxi last night. It was so silly! I liked it a lot. Joe liked it, too, because he was laughing straight from his belly. Those are hard to achieve! Anyway, that hat for Joe's Mom was finished an hour ago (so fast!) and it doesn't look too bad. Hopefully she'll like it otherwise my mannequin will have another hat to wear (she's wearing four right now). I think I found some sock yarn for less than $10,000 a ball so I might try to get some so I can make those socks for Joe and maybe sharpen my skills at this knitting bit. I want to go to - h -'s super fabulous "hip to be square" party. They are installing fiber optics in my backyard -- whoo!

1:54 pm - March 10, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

elton john got postponed.

After previous bad experiences with phone calls, I chose not to believe that Elton John postponed his concert this Saturday until a Saturday day in November when my boss called to tell me the news. There was nothing on his website about our date, but after failing when we tried to call TicketMaster, the box office at Conseco Fieldhouse told us that it has indeed by cancelled. Let's play back the moment in Am�lie when she first gets him to come to her caf� but is devastated afterward because she couldn't even talk to him so she just melts into a big puddle. Yeah, it's not so great when I describe it, but hey, that's just how it is. Speaking less selfishly, however, I do hope that he's not deathly ill or anything. There are much more important things in life than pleasing needy people like myself. Everything will hopefully be okay, though. Life goes on. I just so badly wanted to see Elton John. And the whole surprising Joe with a Mini Cooper for his birthday, that was even more important. Travel agents should be better with their communication, it's been probably a whole month now and I've yet to receive a reply. What can ya do...?

10:19 am - March 08, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

she ran! around the pond!

This morning, I woke up before six and I jogged once around the pond. Though the pond is merely anything compared to anyone, I'd usually get out of breath in the middle and huff all the way home. Today was a little bit different. I tried to concentrate on breathing differently, following the Chi Running book, and I noticed that I wasn't panting after a few seconds of moving. It wasn't bad at all. I'm getting a little bit better. I even had time to cook myself breakfast, take Ira out for a walk, then give him a bath. I thought the weather wasn't bad outside so I didn't put his jacket on, but it was too late once we were out there and I remembered there was the whole wind factor. I hope he doesn't catch a doggie cold. Now I'm off to get ready for work. Have a good one!

8:29 am - March 07, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

fleeing to canada

Lately, I've been passing out figuratively on my bed with bits and pieces of my school work (and knitting) strewn about -- last night was no different. I wasn't feel so hot, and the next thing I new I was reaching over everything to hit the "snooze" button on my alarm clock. I think I got on Ira's nerves because it takes a lot for him to get sick of people and decide to sleep by himself downstairs. Heh. I'm feeling much better now, although hungry. I went to the conference with my professor and he approved my subtheses for the paper. I forgot the thesis but we talked about it and I think I have a pretty good idea of what I would like it to be. He's such a cool guy. When I went to sit down in the chair, he told me to watch out so I didn't hit my head on the shelves behind me, but that Gandhi (a cute little doll) was there to protect me anyhow. Furthermore, he told me about how he didn't want to fight the war in Vietnam so he almost left for Canada, where the father of a friend of his agreed to harbor him. He didn't get drafted though and he had a family and was also a student so he was exempt, which was good. One of his legs is also longer than the other so one of his shoes always has an extra inch or so to the sole. So interesting! Too bad he's retiring after this semester and I don't get to learn about more Gandhi and other eastern/Asian philosophies. I should go eat now.

1:10 pm - March 04, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

chirunning!

I'm reading Chi Running right now and it's nice because I don't have to analyze every little aspect of the content, form, whatever. I can just read to read. It's kind of like art as art rather than art as representation. I'm still convinced I can pull this whole running thing off. Heh.

8:49 pm - March 03, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

sillyness

After today's quiz and mid-term, I will only have to come up with a topic, thesis, and subtheses for my big paper and then write my part of the group paper and I am free for spring break! Yay! What a long sentence!

12:04 pm - March 03, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hooray for spring break

I was watching Jay Leno last night because 1.) I love the man and 2.) Elton John was on, but soon after Cedric the Entertainer came on I feel asleep. Today, tomorrow, and 20 minutes on Friday, then I'm out of school for a whole week. Yay!

9:50 am - March 02, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

nulle!

I am beat. During the whole of French Literature today, the only thing I could think about while everyone else was having intelligent conversations was that I should make a shirt that says "nulle" because it means something along the lines of "useless idiot" in French. I also thought of others, such as "perdant" (loser). Well, I guess that was just one. Anyway, I'm doing okay other than my inability to discuss anything in that class; maybe the next text will evoke the dormant literature nerd inside of me and I will surprise everyone (the other four people in the class).

7:41 pm - March 01, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i am a nerd.

Since I was on the ball yesterday, I will attempt to continue to be on the ball today, and so forth. I am going to start running once it gets a little bit warmer and see how that works. If I can do all of this and keep it up, then I can apply myself even further by attempting to obtain a real job. You may well be impressed very soon. I really hope so, I've been needing to get going for a while now. Montaigne is so cool!

11:14 am - March 01, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

thanks to responsibility

Yesterday, I was on the ball. I woke up early, got ready, took Mom to work and then arrived at my own work 30 minutes early. With nothing else to do, I decided not to waste any time and read parts of my book for film class to prepare for the mid-term later. After work, I got to school early, had time to eat lunch (I forgot to mention that I had time to eat breakfast and then make lunch afterward in the morning) and then go to my French Business class. This is where I fall off the ball and roll down the steep, steep hill: we had to play the vocabulary game, which is pretty much similar to any other word game such as Catch Phrase! or Taboo, but I completely blanked out even though I'd been studying and making vocabulary lists the night before. We all had a lot of fun laughing at each other though and cheating because we were somehow so bad at the vocabulary that Nancy let us do it. It's just a game anyhow. The best part comes next: after studying for more than an hour to prepare for my mid-term in film class, Nancy came in to tell us our prof. wouldn't be there and it was a take-home mid-term! Now that is something good. This is all thanks to the powdery substance that has not quite accumulated more than one inch but seemed to worried pretty much everyone around here. My brother had a delay this morning, too, so I guess that's good for him. Welp, must get back to work -- that's a lot to have done soon.

10:27 am - March 01, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lostoblivion
girls-suck
onlywhispers
kimyadawson
glasscharm