hanaban's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

mmm...life

I love moments in life that make you think twice about everything (in a good way) and just smile ever so slightly.

11:06 pm - February 27, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

busy busy day

Joe and I saw Sideways last night. We didn't think it was as good as everyone made it out to be, save for the silly parts -- those were pretty good. Today is a day for starting and finishing many tasks. I will list some of them here so that I don't forget:

  • Find topic for big paper on Song of Solomon; also remember to schedule a date to meet with prof. to talk about topic
  • Write one-page analysis on Death in Venice
  • Write 2 one-page poetry analyses
  • Start reading Lettres d'une P�ruvienne
  • Finish reading A Short Guide to Writing About Film and go over notes for tomorrow night's mid-term
  • Study vocab. and do assigned work for French Business
  • Catch up in Statistics
  • Take a break somewhere inbetween
That's all I can think of right now, without looking at my syllabi. Busy bee I'll be today :) Distractions welcome with open arms.

12:06 pm - February 27, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

yummy yummy yummy

Last night was tons of fun. Since the guys' game was so early (8:00) and we'd have to kill time until Best Week Ever came on (11:00), we decided on making cr�pes to eat until then. We even got Nutella for those famous "Nutella et bananes" cr�pes we had in Paris and there was pie filling! I had forgotten my undying love for pie filling until last weekend when Joe and I had our first go at making cr�pes, but now... wow. Last night, after everyone was almost finished with their cr�pe-making (the sweets anyway), I asked if they'd want any more pie filling and proceeded to be the true fat kid that I am and finished off more than one would normally eat of pie filling alone. It was so good. Pie is to me as "wearing Prada is a religious experience" to Wilmer Valderama. Ha. We also played this Shout It! DVD game on movie trivia, at which I am terrible and the first few rounds of answers were only guessed and gotten right by my good partner Holly. After she had to leave, I got a few answers right, but still... Heh. I love pie filling.

1:35 pm - February 26, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bleh!

Just as it is nice to find things working themselves out, it is just as bad to find that you have a project due and you have yet to complete any of your other tasks. The hat is getting bigger, though, because you're knitting to try to relieve this recently acquired stress ... and oh, the panic.

2:15 am - February 24, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

seize the time!

I've constantly been on the run up to this week. This morning, for the first time in a long time, I didn't have to get up and go to work, then rush to class when 2:30 came. It was nice -- I got to sleep in until 12:30! I'm glad that things are starting to settle down a little, even though Tuesdays and Thursdays are still the same. I don't have to rush from here to there, which means I don't have to worry about whether I've left my headlights on or one of the car doors unlocked. Tonight, after I got out of class (my only obligation of the day), I came home and had so much time study, relax, then study again. I'm usually beat by this time otherwise. I don't know, I just think it's nice to be able to have a little bit of time to appreciate that you do have that time, you know what I mean? I'm supposed to be writing poetry analyses and reading Montaigne right now, and also probably taking a gander at the statistics book for tomorrow. Oh, and I would also like to state that Altoids Raspberry Sours are really good. Right, back to poetry that I can't grasp.

1:02 am - February 24, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

laziness or something

Is it okay to not feel like going to class and then actually not go? My eyes want to close and stay that way for a while.

10:24 am - February 22, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

good things, 02.20.05

Good things:

  • Getting to hang out with old friends
  • Those soft sugar cookies with the yummy frosting on top... yum
  • A great game of Catch Phrase
  • Sleeping in on a Sunday morning
  • Grocery shopping for the upcoming week (so that I don't pay a total of around $40 to coffee shops or Subway to feed my starving belly) -- looking forward to tuna sandwiches, Lunchables, other sandwiches, soups, and so much more goodness!
  • Chickpeas in curry sauce
  • Homemade cr�pes (which I pronounce "crapes" as in "apes" now, because I got too excited when I got the cr�pe maker for my birthday from Joe -- we'll try to blame the Hoosiers for always saying it wrong, though)
  • Pie filling -- it's so yummy!
  • A phone that works and at the same time does not pick up signals from local radio stations... or other phone calls
  • Things that are too good to share

9:49 pm - February 20, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

distractions

I just finished my very satisfying iced Chai and will now go back to reading Death in Venice, which I am glad is not very long because that would make it an ever bigger pain to read. Okay, well, yeah, back to reading.

6:28 am - February 17, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

birthday balloons


bowling

1:52 am - February 16, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

stubborn pewter

My computer has been really weird lately. Last night, my cursor would disappear whenever I tried to put it on any text, so I turned my computer off. I tried to turn it on several tens of times later, even into the morning and then some, but it didn't want to start up past the first screen. I started tapping buttons on the keyboard and messing with the back when I got home from work tonight, and it started up again, but then froze and continued to be stubborn about turning back on. I'm scared to turn it off now because I have homework to do and I need a computer for that. Anyhow, I have to organize the photos from this past Saturday before I let you see them, but they're coming sometime soon. I have a lot to do by the end of this week so I should probably start instead of dedicate all of my time to de-stressing.

11:21 pm - February 15, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

something like this.

Deb knows what I mean: "a person you can spend every second of every day with, and still miss when he runs out for milk."

8:32 pm - February 15, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

worry rock is my favorite green day song

I don't know much of what's going on anymore, but I'm glad that Holly has finally found a boy who watches 24 with her and makes her talk with a permanent swoon in her voice. I'm having one of those contemplative but not really nights during which I can't sleep but just sit awake and wonder what will happen next. Maybe that's what's keeping me awake at night. No. I know what it is. I just won't tell. I've been doing crazy things on the nights I haven't been able to catch my z's. I started up a photo journal, but it's not yet to my liking, so I'll just post the link when everything works out as much as I want it to. I'm so tired. My head is full of wonder and worry and sometimes I am scared to death. The photo journal and trying to knit with five freaking needles has been distracting me a bit. I told myself I wouldn't be so negative, but then again this is what's real and to taint it with anything else would be so wrong.

I got a webcam from my Mom as my birthday gift, even though I wanted one approximately five or six years ago. It's all good, though -- I've been having some fun with the software that came along with the camera. You'll see soon enough.

Anyway, criminals, please stop with your check fraud and all that. I just went to the license branch to renew my license but they wouldn't let me change my address with only the proof of my checkbook -- they probably changed their policy because of you just now from checkbooks being just fine around voting time. I have to pay extra money now because I had to renew my license to not drive and possibly get caught with an expired license and it costs money to change information on your license. You have caused me so much frustation.

I should really hit the hay now. I think I'm writing even more nonsense than usual. Peace outside.

2:45 am - February 11, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i have not forgotten you, j-mizzle

I think I'm going to turn this into a photoblog. "I'm finally, finally, finally, I'm out of words."

8:20 am - February 08, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

how could there possibly be more to come?

Wow, my birthday was wonderful. I feel so loved. Everyone, especially Joe, was super nice to me and just that they cared made me really happy. Let's just say that I am spoiled rotten by those around me, especially Joe. And the whole big mystery surprise event is yet to come! I thought today was more than enough.

12:51 am - February 08, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

ha...

Why didJoann's e-mail me with details for a "Super Bowl Sunday" sale? Silly people who get put in the "Junk" mail folder for sending me stuff like that everyday.

7:17 pm - February 06, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

business class is rubbing off on me

Do you think it would be a good idea for me to maybe one day sell some of my knitted items online? I thought I was ready to conquer the world when I figured out the whole seaming thing, but now that I have learned to cable... I don't know what I'll do ;) Heheh. Mom's getting a webcam for me (but actually for her) so that she can chat with her friends back in the Vietnam (and wherever else, I get my knowing everybody in the world from her), so I will probably play with it a lot for the first week or so. I'm really considering the selling things online idea right now, even on eBay! because there is always someone searching for something there, and it would benefit us both. What do you think?

1:17 am - February 06, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

knitting to pass the time

Today, I knit your Mom another hat, but it turned out too small (this time lengthwise); I learned how to cable knit; I missed you like crazy.

12:35 am - February 06, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a penguin watch!

Why does Swatch have to be so cool?



1:10 pm - February 05, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

kisses!

I got my hair cut yesterday, and in this photo, Ira was licking my face. A lot.


12:56 pm - February 05, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

norm macdonald!

When Joe went to IPFW for a semester, he often told me and our friends about his English teacher who sounded like Norm MacDonald. I would vaguely smile and nod and try to chuckle, but not know who Norm MacDonald was until Joe pointed him out while we were watching TV long after all of this. You see, I was confused because I kept thinking of Norman Mailer or that one really famous linguist who teaches at MIT. See, I was just being a big nerd is all -- and I am so out of the loop.

12:12 am - February 03, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

hurray for time to breathe

Don't you love it when things work out so unexpectedly?

12:01 am - February 03, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

such good things...


Ooh, such good things:

  • Listening to samples of Bright Eyes' two new albums (I really like I'm Wide Awake, It's Morning)
  • Recovering from a sleepless night
  • Devising great plans for a particular special someone
  • So many good things coming up, almost all at once!
  • Half of my school week is already over
  • Thoughts about random things that make me so giddy
  • Knitting
  • Comfy pajama pants
  • Exciting plans! Yes! I hope they'll all work out.
  • Getting a concerned e-mail from Erica up in Canada, checking to see if I'm okay
  • My Miniature Florida Palm tree is growing bigger and bigger each day
  • My fish are still fat, really colorful, and cute

11:37 pm - February 01, 2005

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lostoblivion
girls-suck
onlywhispers
kimyadawson
glasscharm