hanaban's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

reaching for the last stretch

Things I am doing tomorrow:

Sending off a package for - h -
Visiting Sarah at her work
A lot of catch-up work for school
Making an appointment to see a doctor for my painful back

I haven't finished all of my Christmas shopping yet this year. I have so many exciting gift ideas for each person, but I'm lacking in the funds, so I will try to make do with what I have. Don't worry; I have financial aid money coming, but it won't be here until next month, and that doesn't help me much for Christmas. This'll urge me to be more creative and give more meaningful gifts. I'm so excited. I can understand why people hate Christmas, but I can't not love it. I can't wait to finish with this semester of school so I can start and finish with everything else before Christmas. Enough talking, though; I need to get my work done so that I will be free soon. I just found out my final for French Language Skills has been moved to Monday from Wednesday... two finals on Monday and then another two on Thursday... and then I'll be off to happier times without the stress. Good luck with your finals :)

10:04 pm - December 06, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

par hasard, le 2 d�cembre 2004

Son, Ambulance's voice makes me want to weep.

10:07 am - December 02, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the only thing i would like to say is...

I am disappointed to see The Biggest Loser on instead of Scrubs.

9:46 pm - November 30, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bonnes choses, le 29 novembre 2004


  • long letters

  • inspiration

  • hearing my favorite song twice while at work

  • a routine that I don't get tired of

  • less pressure, more time to relax

  • learning through games in French class

  • brewing ideas for Christmas gifts

  • having some money to get Christmas gifts for everyone

  • chances, chances, and more chances

  • laughing my head off while trying to hold on to my stomach

  • seeing people I love be happy

  • pink lemonade

  • growing just a little bit more every once in a while

9:39 pm - November 29, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pros and cons to taking a nap in the middle of a sunday

pro(s): passes time that would've been spent watching bad television, requires no physical movement

con(s): leaves you full of energy and wide awake later on at 3:00 AM when you have to get up in a few hours to go to class

3:08 am - November 29, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

holly is a cheater.

So, I got bored and made a quiz, then sent it to a few friends so they could take it and kill some time... Some girl named Holly took it and only got half of the questions right, and then "the real Holly" went and took it and got it all right. That's just too cute, Holly. Cheater! :�

7:50 pm - November 28, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

pumpkin pie with a dash of oven mitt

Tonight, Holly and I decided to make some food for everyone as our own Thanksgiving. We made chicken and noodles with vegetables, green bean casserole, mashed potatoes, and pumpkin pie. Holly ended up making most of it because I struggled for a long time with the pie crust. It all turned out very well, though, with the exception of my accidentally knocking an oven mitt into the uncooked pie, but no one could taste it... :) We tried making marshmallow Cokes like they do at Arnold's Diner, but I think the Coke was too warm so there wasn't much fizz action and it didn't taste the same. Perhaps I should find the directions/recipe. I think we've done pretty well at this cooking for other people business, even for it mostly being out of the box. We made our pumpkin pie and green bean casserole by ourselves, though.

I bet Holly's had a wonderful day. I won't be a bad friend and tell you why, though. It just wouldn't be as good. I taught Andy and Holly how to crochet, but it's still a little tricky for them right now. I'm sure they'll get the hang of it soon and school me on how to make baby booties that actually look like baby booties. Ha. Good for them, though.

My very expensive French book came in the mail today, which was really nice, except it's complex and I think I will need Nancy to show me how I would go about using it.

I've grown to appreciate this time of year so much, being able to see my friends, if only for a little while, after a long time. I'm glad Joe gets to go see David in Florida next month, too. You shouldn't take friends and opportunities to spend time with them for granted.

10:17 pm - November 27, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

balance

I'm feeling much better than I did last night, but I'd just like to feel more or less the same instead of dramatically different all the time. I love receiving e-mail from real people, even if it's only a few words. I just heard back from - h - about her pretty cards and got an e-mail from my buddy Ed who is studying in France right now. I felt bad for him because he was lonely during Thanksgiving, but he seems to be having a good time playing rugby and making his own breaks by skipping random classes throughout the week.

I've been trying to crochet little baby socks and booties so that I can show Holly how to, so that she can make some for her sister's upcoming baby. Right now, I'm making a sock that's as big as a mitten, but it's supposed to look like that? Heh.

11:14 am - November 26, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

woe number two hundred and fifty-three

The bad thing about having a good memory is that I remember things I wish I didn't: past experiences, people, etc. When it all comes back like it happened only a few seconds ago, it takes its toll and I'm left wherever I am feeling the same way I felt then, and I wish it would go away.

1:09 am - November 26, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy turkey day!

I am thankful for...

  • the best of everything ever, Joe.
  • my family, when they're not crazy.
  • my best buds Joe, Holly, Paul, Adam, Ryan, Chan, - h -, (and everyone else)
  • having learned to crochet and knit, so that I can now try to make some gifts for ChrisKwanzUkkah.
  • my dog, whom I never thought I would ever be able to have.
  • my cousin in Australia, who doesn't celebrate Thanksgiving but sent me an e-mail to wish me a happy one anyway.
  • all the little things that could make a girl like me so happy and giddy and fill up with so much love and all that inside... sometimes I feel like I'm just going to burst.

10:51 am - November 25, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i hugged the abominable snowman

Tonight, Holly's mom was nice enough to have me along with them on a special shopping trip, where we got special discounts at certain stores and got to meet special people, such as The Abominable Snowman, and the much less seemingly cute and fuzzy Rudolph and Santa. Santa was a little grumpy. My smiles will turn out so funny in the pictures because I am laughing. I got cool aqua/light blue glittens with frogs on the mitten part since my other glittens fell apart last week or so. All in all, we had a really good time and shared many laughs and got to try yummy onion rings from Red Robin just after mentioning we were a tad hungry. Everything just seemed to work out perfectly.

I'm so excited, because Joe just invited me over for Turkey Day with his family, and I've only had two Turkey Days before this one. The invitation was even nicer. I feel as big as the Abominable Snowman inside... near bursting of love, excitement, and happiness. Here, my moment concludes with Martha Stewart's voice: "It's a good thing."

9:25 pm - November 21, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

dear - h -,


What is your post code? I think you left it out when you gave me your address and I wouldn't want your mail to get lost...

Love,
Han

4:20 pm - November 21, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

devising

This morning, I found it justifiable that I missed class because I pretty much slept through it. I was tired. I slacked off and so I didn't finish reading Waiting for Godot in French for class yesterday, and I woke up at four in the morning to get that and my Philosophy of Art paper finished. I was pooped and I deserved my sleep. I slept a bit too much, though, but that doesn't matter. I was able to sleep.

Holly and I got excited with the idea of having an "after Thanksgiving", but I think that we forgot about the whole having to be really good to be able to make a Thanksgiving dinner. Maybe we can be an exception because this is an "after Thanksgiving" dinner rather than the real thing. Jeez, that's just "bad faith" right there, making up excuses for actually not being that great of cuisini�res ... you never know, though.

I just finished crocheting a silly hat because I ran out of yarn to make the whole thing. It isn't that noticeable. If only I could learn to sew, now... I would try to make a Russian-looking sherpa hat -- the kind with the ear flaps and all that jazz, just like in the one movie with the two old men, one of them having been the "Mr. Wilson" in Dennis the Menace.

1:53 am - November 20, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and everything must catch up

So, after a week of not having that many classes to go to and my teacher actually being the slacker (which is, of course, absolutely permissible), I now have many, many things to get done for this week, and also get ready for the upcoming weeks. I did not know that Thanksgiving is next week already! The only thing I can think about next week is that I have my 30-minute French Literature presentation to do on Samuel Beckett's Waiting for Godot (en fran�ais, bien s�r) and of course having no school for a lot of days after Tuesday, 5:45 P.M. I'm a little bit worried, but trying not to, about all of my schoolwork and getting good final grades, because I don't want to revert to the big time slacker I was once before... I just want to slack a little bit and not have to stress so much. I'm supposed to be doing many things right now, but I thought I'd just write about them.

What I'd really like to accomplish is actually knitting winter accessories, and maybe if I somehow get really good -- learning patterns for really cool and unique gifts for everyone. That's once knitting becomes less stressful due to my getting better at it though. (I kid, I'm not that bad.)

If you haven't gone out to see The Incredibles and are waiting for yet another opinion on how good or bad it is... I saw it with Joe, Paul, and Holly this weekend and loved it. It's so cute and silly and entertaining... and oh, the last part. I loved that more than anything. Is there a movie I should see?

Well, I should get back to writing about the coolest documentary I've ever seen (The Gleaners and I) to convince other people that they should see it, too. Have good times and don't forget to wear your jacket if it's cold outside.

11:35 pm - November 16, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

things i learned today



  • Belgians rarely eat waffles, and their country was not where Brussels sprouts originated.

  • Belgians did, however, create the "french fry".
It's not much, but it was amusing how annoyed Jo became when we discussed stereotypes of other countries and their cultures. Jo is a student from Belgium who speaks perfect English, Spanish, French, and Dutch. I am positive this girl will conquer the world. Her parents and sister came into class in the beginning to visit with Nancy (our prof.) and a few other students... and later on, Jo told us that more than anything, her parents wanted to meet the Amish. They went all the way to Shipshewana (sp?) and took pictures with strangers in buggies and were so amazed by it. That's just cute. Also, Nancy declared Ira the French club's mascot.

10:57 pm - November 10, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

my dog as a drag queen




There's more. Click here.

9:55 pm - November 09, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

bonnes choses, le 07 novembre 2004


  • Shaun of the Dead made me giggle

  • Making pumpkin pie with Joe

  • 5 weeks left of school until Winter Break (Yay!)

  • Christmas just around the corner

  • Discovering (through Emily at work) a thumb print drawing book and thus having something to do during class

  • Being able to listen to Rooney again (I lost my other CD)

  • The very nice weather this afternoon (I didn't even have to wear my jacket!)

  • E-mails from real people and not people who claim to have known me in 1982 or so

  • So much good music to listen to, new music to discover

  • Having gas in my car, and it costing less than usual (but still more than it should be, Joe would add)

  • Having money left for food this week

  • Getting to watch two soccer games a week

  • Many things to look forward to, as always

8:38 pm - November 07, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

as holly would say: vote or die

Today, I voted for the first time. I'm anxiously awaiting the results for the presidential elections and disappointed that Indiana remains dominately republican. I've heard of people waiting from an hour to three hours to vote today, and I feel fortunate enough that I got in and out of the PAL center in about ten or fifteen minutes. And I got to stand in line next to the coolest old people ever. They were pretty much all old, and they shared stories with me. This lady behind me asked if I'd heard of President Eisenhower, because she voted for him her first time. Her husband played in the band during that parade. They're going on a cruise with some friends this December.

I made it to the last half hour of the French table today, where a few people show up and just speak French to help improve oral and social skills, I guess. Today, we talked about how much Seth (the president) likes to go to fairs in the small towns of Indiana. There's a "Mouse Game" where a real mouse drives a car and one places money on where it will end up; should one choose the correct box/place, one wins a plush stuffed animal. My favorite professor (the German native one) says that she and her husband have participated in this for seventeen years, and have quite a collection. They've only lost one year. There is another game that I found quite bizarre, called "Bessie's Movement", where one again places money... and waits for the cow to move about and then make her movement. Yes, I am serious. People win money for guessing where the movement ends up. We just shook heads and laughed for the sake of accepting that Seth loves that stuff and he is a really nice guy. I forgot to mention to everyone that in France they are having a party right now, awaiting also the results of the election.

It's gotten cold again, but that's only expected. If I suddenly strike it rich by finding the time to knit and crochet winter accessories and selling them, I will invest (after the necessecities) in warm boots. Or Chung King. Whichever I see first. I understand my grammar has gone to Alaska to become a republican and I apologize for being difficult to understand.

10:27 pm - November 02, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lostoblivion
girls-suck
onlywhispers
kimyadawson
glasscharm