hanaban's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

happy halloween!




Buzz Lightyear rules.


This weekend has been very fun -- tiring, but fun. Saturday, Holly and I went to Meijer (a grocery/everything else store) to help out with their Halloween events, particularly manning the coloring contest table. We didn't expect so many people to bring their children there, but they did. They even dressed them up in cute costumes like strawberries, alligators, Buzz Lightyear, just to name a few. The kids were so cute. Almost all of them were very polite, too, remember to thank us and then put the crayons back into the box when they were finished coloring. Everybody wants to go see Elmo, so they all worked very hard (except for the ones who didn't yet know how to color -- they scribbled, but it made them happy anyhow). Our legs were tired since we had to stand for four hours straight (I know it's not much, we just weren't used to it), but we made it through and collected a large amount of entries. There were many little booths to visit, and there was even a scavenger hunt! Our middle school art teacher was next to us handing out bicycle safety information and recognized us after a while. All in all, I think everyone had a great time.

Today, Holly and I wanted to have a party, but we ended up just cooking a lot of food for the usual four of us, since we're not really party people and cooking for four is enough. We made Caesar salad to go with pizza pasta and garlic bread, tots to snack on while everything else was finishing up, pudding with whipped cream, and peanut butter cup brownies. Everything went well since we didn't try to make our own cheesy garlic bread and worked out of the box. Hopefully, we'll be able to make super yummy foods from scratch soon, but we just thought we needed to start somewhere. The trick-or-treaters who came by our house were cute, too, especially a little red Power Ranger who told me he liked my dog and thanked me for his candy when the other boys he came with forgot to do so. I'm really tired now and thinking about large amounts of pages that needed to be written by Tuesday makes me want to sleep through everything. Hope you've had a good time.

8:37 pm - October 31, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

furthermore...

How could I forget that I finally got to eat Thai food after wanting it for a really long time, got a pumpkin carving set (which I have not yet used), and penguin sheets from Target! I really need to start documenting my days through photos or something soon.

3:53 pm - October 28, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i wanted to be a penguin for halloween

Updates have been funny lately because I've been feeling awkward and can't get things out just right. My moods have been swinging like chimpanzees throughout their trees in the Indonesian forests. One day, I'll feel like life is pointless, mainly caused by the stupidity of school right now, and I don't want to do anything. Others, I'll have completely changed to feel like I am capable of anything, am optimistic, and actually want to go to class so I can do well. It just seems like I try and try and work so hard and it's all for next to nothing in the end. Effort not well spent. There's not much I can do now, so I might as well continue on until I get elsewhere, though, right? I'm almost certain I will change my mind for the better and things will be just fine in no time. Especially after this large load of work is all finished very soon.

I've been carrying my camera around with me, but nothing has struck my fancy enough for me to take it out and capture... although it shouldn't take something fancy to do so. You know what I mean. The leaves are falling and blowing every which way, and the weather has been very nice to us here.

My academic advisor has informed me of a few short-term go-away-to-study-or-have-fun-while-speaking-French programs, and I think I might be interested in applying for an internship with the Canada Parliament. I know, it sounds so fierce (my current word of preference) and scary and... important. I know thismuch about politics, let alone Canadian politics, but who knows, maybe I'll learn that government work is something I'd like to do once I'm finished with my degree. It's a start somewhere, since I'm still uncertain of my future plans. I talk about it all the time but I still haven't told my parents about it yet. I think I need a stable state of mind before that. The other program is to just go to a place in France (one can pick from several, with different activities) and learn about French culture through meeting people and speaking the language. In both cases, there aren't any classes I have to take, which is pretty cool and probably much less stressful.

This isn't everything because I refuse to be a completely open book without mystery, but if you'd like to know more, and it's not too personal (such as whether or not my boyfriend is a good kisser), please feel free to ask. Also, we cancelled AOL so I lost my AIM screen name. And buddy list. Now, I'm using "petitefille33" and you can say "hello" as much as you'd like when I'm online.

I'd better eat before class starts, otherwise the whole university will hear my stomach rumble. - h -, I haven't sent out the letter so I'll send it to your new address soon. I hope. I still have to renew my driver's license by Tuesday so that the addresses will match and I will be able to vote to throw down that silly Bush man.

3:34 pm - October 28, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i am trying to write my paper right now

These people next to me in the language lab right now will probably pray for me to be forgiven to write such bad things about them in my next several sentences. See, this is a pretty frequent occurrence, for me, and other people, to come into the lab to do work (because that's what you do in a lab) and be quiet and study and such scholarly activities. We do not, however, expect that there will be three people talking about everything from being a band geek in high school to now one people who's left and two people talking about their religious followings. Seriously, though, I just want to tell them to move their God talk elsewhere, because it's not helping me on the paper I have to write about intolerance and racism. Hmm... maybe I just have a slight intolerance (not aggressive, however) towards people like this who do not consider being kind to others while they talk about all that other religious stuff. Please let them be hungry or tired or need to go home or need to go to class or SOMETHING. I wish I had guts like Emily to give these people "the stare" to intimidate them and urge them to evacuate as if this building was going to burn down. Sorry, people, I'm angry. I may delete this later when I'm done with my work or something, .... oh, man, I already feel bad for writing this.

11:58 am - October 27, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

further procrastination

I just give I'd make a decent update on recent happenings:

Holly and I are having a Halloween party, with a total of four people, including the two of us. The day before Halloween, we are going to dress up in her younger brother's baseball jerseys and pass out candy to trick-or-treaters at the supermarket. Everything is going as planned so far.

My French Literature prof. really is the devil.

I'm actually considered as a Junior in my class standing now, so I am not that far behind (I hope).

I got to eat "Glo Balls" (the Halloween version of "Sno Balls") at work yesterday.

As entertainment, my friend Destiny has nicknamed several characters in our very boring Philosophy of Art class. For example: Dexter (from the cartoon Dexter's Laboratory) and Rico Suav�.

The weather is surprisingly pleasant.

Australian gummy frogs are delicious.

Holly and I get to have catching up time watching soccer games again.

Ira is getting chubby and it's really cute. That's about it for now. If I told you other things, I'd have to kill you, as a good friend of mine would say.

11:54 pm - October 26, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

steps to doing homework

1.) don't download new programs and then play with them all night. 2.) don't learn about new ones and then repeat the aforementioned process. 3.) don't update your journal with such nonsense. 4.) do your homework.

11:51 pm - October 26, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

just when you think something is impossible...

You can just plug some differently colored cords around and ignore the installation CD that says you need an NIC, and you will magically have DSL working! Without setting up a said "account" with username and such. Ah, the goodness of these things happening out of nowhere! More later, as I am no longer dependent (not that I was ungrateful) on 45.2K :)

2:42 am - October 16, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and she has once again reappeared for the sake of something

Dear Everyone,

I have been struck lately by laziness and lack of interest for the past few weeks. I slacked majorly in school, but I came back and caught up, and through that I re-learned that in life, you can mess up with some things time and time again, yet there is usually a chance until the end for you to try and come back from it all. It's "grand", as some would say, and I would use the word "grand" in the context of my dreamy state of mind and not the context that it's the greatest thing ever... no, never. Not in the turn-up-your-nose manner.

Anyhow, my cousin from Australia who has decided to be a monk has been e-mailing me and I'm getting into one of those let's-be-nice-no-matter-what times again. I think I could learn a lot from people like him, and from people in general. That's "grand". Ha.

I finally got the Garden State soundtrack, after many weeks of wanting it but not wanting to spend nearly $20 here when it is only $9.99 at a Tower Records not here. Best Buy had it displayed on their "Best Sellers" stand, tagged at $13.99, and I hesitated, but Joe persuaded me to go ahead and get it (probably knowing the aforementioned) so I did, and it rang up as only $9.99! Content, or rather, ecstatic was I, and ever so gratelful for that gentle push that got me to a big grin and a bobbing head. Thank you, Joe.

Holly and I really want to have a Halloween party this year, even though there will probably be only the four of us there. What's wrong with that anyway? We'll call it some sort of get-together and make it be all about food and a little bit about looking ridiculously silly. I'm excited about finding recipes and ideas for such festivities, and of course dressing up and carving pumpkins. Ah, what great things to which I look forward.

Oh, and in the past few weeks, I've learned how to knit and crochet hats! It's amazing. I'm so excited to make accessories for everyone and to learn even more so that I can makes socks and such in the future. I've just been dreamy (adverb, not adjective) and then feeling the really negative effects of dreaming and not doing work afterwards, but I hope that I can finally get myself back on track this time. It's okay otherwise, though. Life's not worth killing myself over, right?

11:47 pm - October 11, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lostoblivion
girls-suck
onlywhispers
kimyadawson
glasscharm