hanaban's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i once knew a girl who loved llamas




"don't you sass, me!"
(that was for you, Holly)

12:28 am - July 01, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

i still love to go to the zoo

Joe and I went to the zoo today. We saw monkeys and vultures and peacocks and llamas with funny teeth... and I got to feed the fish. Kois are so cool. We also got to see the new sharks, stingrays, and the amazing jellyfish -- I really liked those jellyfish. We also saw Cindy there. The postcards at the gift shop were great photos, but I decided to not spend money that I don't really have on things that will just sit around in a box. I need to de-clutter more. There are photos, but the server is down, so I will post them later, with full (or maybe short) descriptions. Can you believe that July 4th is coming up this weekend? We weren't even thinking about it, but I want to be with friends and eat and play with fireworks. Whoo! Also, Sarah and Paul's engagement party is Saturday, and the 25-year-old is getting married in August. So much happiness :)

8:07 pm - June 29, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

paul's dad will be proud

Sunday afternoon soccer games are quite entertaining. So are silly birthday gifts for very good friends after eating a home-cooked meal. Mmm... I think I should add brats to my list of favorite foods.

The lady who lost her son in Fahrenheit 9/11 made my eyes well up in tears twice last night, because I can't stand to see people cry for good reasons and because I started feeling so bad about everything. I liked that it was informative, entertaining, and moving, among other things, all at one time.

10:40 am - June 28, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

someday...

I will have a dog.

11:59 am - June 27, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

one should make the best of everything

I'm so excited and motivated and I want to try to do anything! As of now, I want to consider minoring in Linguistics (in addition to the semi-minor that is my International Studies certificate). The certificate is actually something to possibly help me understand better international affairs and also help me possibly get a job easier later on, but I'm not incredibly fascinated by the classes I've taken so far. They're... not really me. Maybe I might be more into politics if something happened to move me more in that direction, but I loved my Linguistics class very much and I would really like to learn more. It's only fifteen credits (minus the three I've already completed with that first class) to go, and if I'm still feeling so good about things, I'll go for it. No logic will get in the way of my happiness, at least right now. Too bad they don't have any marine biology classes (or the sort), otherwise you know I'd be very compelled to take it. There is, however, a tap class available during my free time... sounds like fun!

1:09 am - June 25, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

did you know...

(but don't really care) that Jason Mraz is on the 50 First Dates soundtrack? Also, the person who sings the version of "Somewhere Over the Rainbow" is "IZ" Israel Kamakawiwo'ole, and it's the same version from Meet Joe Black. Heh. :)

12:34 am - June 25, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and i also have a semi-newfound love for the cure

I loved 50 First Dates. Very much so. It made me want a penguin, a walrus, and to become a marine biologist or nerd of some sort. Also be creative and actually do something with my free time -- while I have it. Why bother make worse something while you could be having so much fun making better of it? I may not know who I am or what I want to be, but maybe that's just it -- I'm not one person and I don't want to just be and do one thing, and that's not bad at all.

11:40 pm - June 24, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

wait a minute...

people actually dust?

10:53 pm - June 21, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the troubles of being a girl

Everything is so gosh-darned cute. Especially when you don't have money. These stores with cute things have sales and they make you think that you should buy everything you see because it's all so cheap right now. It's good to be able to think thoroughly when you look at clothes, shoes, anything that will tempt you to whip out that Visa check card. You may become a bit sad and whiny that you want this or that but have to save up money for an apartment or something, but in the end, you'll be happy that you're living in an apartment and had enough money for food all because you were strong enough to resist buying that outfit that you would've only worn once anyway -- that actually ended up costing you more than a fortune because once you started spending you couldn't stop. Whoo. Hooray for no English classes and being able to write incredibly long sentences. You know the reason for this post. I've been bored and looking at those websites again. There are more troubles of being a girl, but I will just continue with those sometime later.

4:07 pm - June 20, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

five

Another movie you should see: God is Great, I'm Not. I guess it's gotten bad reviews, but I loved it. I think it's quirky and cute and Audrey Tautou is as cute as she is in Am�lie, which I haven't seen in other movies. Just thought I'd share. Oh, and my goldfish died again. Less than 48 hours. I should start numbering rather than naming my fish, just like the character in Chuck Palahniuk's Survivor. It's okay, though -- if I go out, I'll take it to the store to see what's up... maybe. Yup. Well, back to reading about things I don't know.

2:52 pm - June 20, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

don't leave me in control at 3am

I wonder if I can actually get a job by not having to go to the direct locations (except for interviews, of course, but I'm talking applications) to inquire about openings. I wonder if technology is so gosh-darned good that I can get a job by sitting around and applying for various jobs via Internet applications early in the morning because I can't sleep past nine each day. At least I get to watch Becker; there's something about that show that makes you feel okay being up so early in the morning. Heh. It's not that bad. Today, I re-arranged my people entertaining room, partially cleaned the bathroom, and did a partial water change for my fish tank. I'm just a girl with not many obligations (13 hours of work a week), so I have to find anything to do to keep me busy. Anything that requires more physical effort thank a brisk walk is out of the question, at least for now. I think I'd keel over and have an asthma attack for everyone to enjoy.

Anyway, one of us is turning 21 in less than a week, and hopefully, we can figure out a spectacular celebration for him, because as much as we poke at each other and swing moods at each other, we can somehow still be nice and actually show that we do care for one another, especially on such an occasion. Things will work themselves out and there will be plenty of good times ahead. Ope, that RealPlayer's playing good songs on random again... and I need to sleep. I just remembered I have to work tomorrow.

2:45 am - June 19, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

slacker needs a real job

I need a new job, one that will provide me with more hours and thus more money, so that I can afford things like a grown-up and live like a grown-up, because pretty soon, I'll have no other choice. Does anyone have any suggestions where I should apply?

9:23 pm - June 17, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

\"thank you, jesus!\"

If you haven't already done so, go see Saved! -- it's the movie we've all been needing to come out for so long. There's more, but I'm... so... sleepy.

10:43 pm - June 15, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

when life gives you lemons, kindly ask for something better

I found this through the boys at girls suck. I should start selling stuff on eBay -- I think we're all missing out.

5:52 pm - June 10, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

some friends are fish that should be food

I felt bad for the cheerleader who wanted to be Made into a skateboarder on MTV today. While hanging out in a dressing room, one of her friends told her she should maybe lose some weight so she could get into a bikini for spring break. Then she said something about the girl not having to worry about it if she was going to wear skater shirts. That's just mean. The girl is tiny, too. (and I can't sleep)

4:52 am - June 09, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

when the world is sleeping

I've been falling asleep before Jay Leno's monologue is over and waking up before Becker starts, except that I forget about Becker starting and catch it just as it ends. I was woken up around 2:00 AM and when that happens, I usually can't go back to bed for a few hours. Until those few hours arrive, I am wide awake and usually able to watch the sun rise, pouring its painful brightness into my little eyes.

My fish tank smells really bad and I feel like I'm being punished by David Pelzer's mom in A Child Called "It" in the bathroom, except there isn't any chlorine and I just can't breathe naturally. This is because there is an excess of ammonia in my fish tank, due to the "Nitrogen Cycle" and my tank's need to grow beneficial bacteria and break in to everything. Supposedly, if I make regular partial water changes and feed my fishies less often, it helps. I should've learned this before I replaced everything but one plant for my fish. Hopefully, it'll pass before I know it and my fish will be able to live with less ammonia in their environment. I will show you pictures soon enough.

4:48 am - June 09, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

should've been dead a long time ago, but now is better than never. goodbye, creed.

Geez, now that the server's not too busy, I don't know what I want to say. I do know that there is less than $1 in my checking account and I am not terribly bothered by it. I will be okay until Friday afternoon. Did you know that by watching a half hour of the Pilates commercial, you can just try some of the three-second long clips of exercise techniques and fit into those once-tight shorts once again? I shall save my forty dollars for something else. Anyway, I read somewhere that Creed is no longer. I feel like the marionette in the Best Buy commercial dancing around, thinking of how great "wireless" would be -- Creedless, in my case. I shall go make fun of the GameCube now.

10:16 am - June 08, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lostoblivion
girls-suck
onlywhispers
kimyadawson
glasscharm