hanaban's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

early mornings

On my French F204 final, the last question was something along the lines of, "What would you do if you had only one year left to live? How would you feel? What would you change about your life? How would your relationships with friends and family be?". My answer, wordy only due to my inability to clearly state my objective, consisted of:

  1. Having a dog of my own, because I've been crazily obsessed with dogs (more lately than ever) for a long time and mom won't let me have one. Yes, I am aware that I sound like a five-year-old (but I don't care, I just want my dog).
  2. Being happy with what I have, appreciating more. That whole "there's no need to search for happiness, it's right under your nose" philosophy. Most people say they'd like to travel and see the world, but in some ways, to me, at least... it's meaningless. See, you want to see Paris and Venice and Cairo and Tokyo, but once you get there, although it's "cool" and "beautiful" and all that, you realize that that's all it is. I'd rather be with the people I love than travel miles and miles to feel accomplished.
There were more, but I've forgotten, as usual. Call me a sap, but I was getting teary-eyed writing my "future plans" down for some reason. Maybe it was just the thought of actually being able to have a dog.

Thanks, Mel, for the note. I rarely get notes, so it was really nice to hear from you. Let me know what's on your playlist! While slacking the other day, I caught The Vertical Ray of the Sun on IFC (Independent Film Channel); it had an amazing soundtrack. I've been listening to the mellow songs of the Velvet Underground and Emiliana Torrini, and also some classic French songs. Hm... maybe I'll just list them:
  1. The Velvet Underground - Pale Blue Eyes
  2. Emiliana Torrini - If You Go Away & Crazy/Beautiful theme
  3. Charles Aznavour & Edith Piaf - Besame mucho
  4. Robbie Williams & Nicole Kidman - Something Stupid
  5. The Darkness's Permission to Land
  6. Pumatumayo's French Caribbean
Et voil�. A strange little variety, but it makes me happy. What makes you happy?

1:56 am - May 12, 2004

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

lostoblivion
girls-suck
onlywhispers
kimyadawson
glasscharm